The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2020/21   

An annual award celebrating the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the late 20th century. It aims to encourage emerging talent in the craft of furniture design and making. 
Any woodworker who is a resident UK citizen over the age of 18 and who has a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture is invited to submit up to 2 items of furniture made primarily of wood, that can include other complementary materials and that echo the philosophy of Alan Peters. Judging is based on the appropriate use of wood, the quality of workmanship, functionality and originality of design.

Both one-off designs and potential batch-produced designs are encouraged and the piece does not have to be large. Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read this 64-page online video-integrated ebook by Jeremy Broun offered free here: 



Alan Peters OBE (1933 – 2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer makers of the latter part of the 20th Century. He was apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and was a direct link to the English Arts & Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications.  Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, yet moving tradition forward, resulted in many timeless pieces.  He created affordable functional furniture which was made to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations. 



History of the Award


The original award was called The Alan Peters Award For Excellence and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010 and the prize was for three winners to have a free exhibition space alongside the professionals at this annual furniture exhibition in Cheltenham.

The award ran for eight years. Here are some of the winning pieces. The judges were Jason Heap, Keith Newton and Jeremy Broun. 

The judges  for The Alan Peters Furniture Award 2020/21

Jeremy Broun (organizer) -  designer-maker and co-exhibitor with Alan Peters 1978 - 2002.                                                  

Andrew Lawton -  designer-maker who worked with Alan Peters

and on his last commission.                            

David Barron -  established maker of fine contemporary furniture

and long time admirer of Alan Peters.

Makers Maker cover.JPG
ccd logo.JPG
Organized by                                     in collaboration with
Due to Covid19 this will be an online 'live event' award 

1st prize £1,000 voucher from

2nd prize  £500 voucher from





3rd prize  £300 Judges prize






The 2020 award has been moved to 2021 as an online event with livestreaming:

The new entry deadline is 30 March 2021

The judging of short-listed items will be in April 

The Award ceremony will be a live event at the end of April*

The virtual exhibition will run from early May* onwards and will include exhibits organised by Axminster Tools & Machinery and examples of the judges' furniture designs. 

*Precise dates to be announced soon.

If you see a 'Let's chat' facility at the foot of this page, please feel free to ask Jeremy Broun any questions regarding this award.

Guidelines &
Entry form

Please watch the Guidelines video (coming soon) 

Payment options via application form

or here. This is an SSL secured 
 You will receive an email acknowledgment

basket view 4.png

James Long - a 2011 winner of the previous award scheme

Patron of the

new award

Please consider becoming a patron

donate ap.jpg
This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now