The Alan Peters Furniture Award                                                                 2022 

An annual award celebrating the legacy of one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer-makers of the late 20th century. It aims to encourage talent in the craft of furniture design and making. 
Any woodworker who is a resident citizen of The British Isles* over the age of 18 and who has a passion and talent for designing and making contemporary furniture is invited to submit up to 2 items of furniture made primarily of wood, that can include other complementary materials and that echo the philosophy of Alan Peters. Judging is based on the appropriate use of material, the quality of workmanship, functionality and originality of design.

Both one-off designs and potential batch-produced designs are encouraged and the piece does not have to be large. Applicants should be familiar with the work of Alan Peters prior to applying and are encouraged to read this 64-page online video-integrated ebook by Jeremy Broun offered free here: 

Alan Peters OBE (1933 – 2009) was one of Britain’s most prominent furniture designer makers of the latter part of the 20th Century. He was apprenticed to Edward Barnsley and was a direct link to the English Arts & Crafts Movement. He was hugely influential internationally in his practice, teaching and publications.  Above all, his respect and understanding of how wood behaves and the value of hand skill, yet moving tradition forward, resulted in many timeless pieces.  He created affordable functional furniture which was made to last, making an art of his craft in some of his subtle innovations. 



History of the Award


The original award was called The Alan Peters Award For Excellence and was initiated by Jason Heap in 2010 and the prize was for three winners to have a free exhibition space alongside the professionals at this annual furniture exhibition in Cheltenham.

The award ran for eight years. The judges were Jason Heap,

Keith Newton and Jeremy Broun. 

The judges  for The Alan Peters Online Furniture Award 2022

Jeremy Broun (organizer) -  designer-maker and co-exhibitor with Alan Peters 1978 - 2002.                                                  

Andrew Lawton -  designer-maker who worked with Alan Peters

and on his last commission.                            

Freya Whamond (guest judge for 2022) - furniture designer maker

and teacher and one of the winners of the 2017 award.

Makers Maker cover.JPG
ccd logo.JPG
AP bowltable.JPG
AP chiselbowl2.JPG
Organized by                                     in collaboration with
JB logo on black.jpg
We hope this will be a physical exhibitions event.
James Long 'Ripple' Wall Cabinet.jpg
2013. Thomas Whittingham.jpg

Thomas Whittingham - a 2013 winner of the previous award scheme


Freya Whammond - a 2017 winner of the previous award scheme

James Long - a 2011 winner of the previous award scheme

1st prize £1,000 voucher from

2nd prize  £500 voucher from





3rd prize  £300 Judges prize





Applications are invited for The 2022 award.

The entry deadline is 31 JULY 2022

The judging of furniture pieces will be in August when we hope the main exhibition will occur (waiting to be confirmed). 

The winners will be announced in the xxx issue of The Woodworker and Good Woodworking magazine around xxx.

Please consider submitting an application at any time before the entry deadline. This helps with the management of entries to avoid a flurry of activity at the very last minute.   

Application Conditions:

Open to any resident citizen of The British Isles* over 18 who has an enthusiasm and flair for woodworking. A piece of furniture (indoor or outdoor) is to be made and six hi resolution JPEG images submitted, together with a Word document description. Short-listed applicants will be asked to engage in a Zoom video call or submit a one minute mobile phone video introducing themselves and describing the piece. The fee is £20 per entry, max two entries.  *includes Northern and Southern IrelandApplication rules are fully detailed in the form below: A refund is discretionary if an applicant pulls out.  

axminster tools.jpg

Payment options via application form

or here. This is an SSL secured 
 You will receive an email acknowledgment.

ssl cert.jpg
basket view 4.png
Guidelines &
Entry form

After sending your entry and fee you will be sent an email acknowledging receipt. If you dont receive an email within 24 hours please contact Andrew Lawton

English Woodland Timber.jpg

The 2021 award prize-giving ceremony

Award guidelines for 2022 

david barron.jpg

Patron of the

new award

Please consider becoming a patron

donate ap.jpg